New Council Sworn In


Charters Towers Regional Council held its post-election meeting on Friday, 5 April 2024, to appoint the newly elected Council.

Post-election meetings are a statutory requirement, with the purpose of the meeting to allow the Councillors to make the declaration of office, appoint the Deputy Mayor, appoint the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group (LDMG) and decide on the remainder of meeting dates for the year.

Mayor Liz Schmidt and her team of Councillors were officially sworn in on Tuesday 5 April 2024, however, they reaffirmed their commitment in front of family and friends as they undertook their declaration of office.

Returning Councillors include Cr Alan Barr, Cr Kate Hastie, Cr Graham Lohmann and Cr Julie Mathews. Newly elected Councillors include Cr Kim Farmer and Cr Steven Plant.

During the meeting, Cr Kate Hastie was appointed Deputy Mayor, with the appointment of Mayor Liz Schmidt as Chair and Cr Graham Lohmann as Deputy Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group (LDMG).

Mayor Liz Schmidt said she is ready to hit the ground running.

“I am honoured to be elected as the new Mayor of the Charters Towers Region. I look forward to working with my fellow Councillors and look forward to working for our community.

“The voters have selected an amazing team with diverse skills and a mix of youth and experience, we are all looking forward to working together for the betterment of the community.   We begin a new era for the town and region and relish the real opportunity to move forward.

We have agreed that we will from today focus on the future development of the Region, and we will look back only for the lessons from the past both positive and negative,’ said the Mayor.

The April General Meeting of Council will be held at 9:00am on Tuesday, 23 April 2024 in Council’s Board Room. Members of the public are invited to attend all General Meetings of Council.


Photo: L-R Cr Julie Mathews, Cr Steven Plant, Mayor Liz Schmidt, Cr Alan Barr, Deputy Mayor Kate Hastie, Cr Graham Lohmann, Absent Cr Kim Farmer