Animals

Council is responsible for ensuring landowner prevention and management of declared pest plants and animals in the Charters Towers Regional Council Local Government Area. This involves implementing the Charters Towers Regional Council Biosecurity Plan 2019-24, establishing practices to prevent the introduction of new pests and strategies to eradicate existing pests in small numbers.  It also includes taking measures to contain established pests in the Region, liaising with landholders and enforcing the Biosecurity Act 2014.

For further information, including fact sheets, guidelines and strategies, please visit the Biosecurity Queensland website or contact Council.

Wild Dogs (Category 3, 4, 5 & 6 Biosecurity Act 2014)

The term wild dog refers collectively to purebred dingoes, dingo hybrids and domestic dogs that have escaped or been deliberately released.

These aggressive canines have a damaging impact upon domestic livestock and native fauna and can pose a hazard to human health due to their incursions into urban areas.

1080 Baiting Program

Charters Towers Regional Council conducts a wild dog baiting program throughout the entire region every 6 months targeting adults during breeding season (April/May) and pups and juveniles (September/October).  The program is advertised in locally circulating newspapers throughout the Region at the appropriate time and notification to individual property owners is also undertaken by Council.

Current Baiting Program

The details of Council's current baiting program are below:

Date Location

Monday 19 April 2021

Red Hill-Campaspe

Tuesday 20 April 2021

Mirtna

Wednesday 21 April 2021

Scartwater-Bundabaroo Turn-off

Thursday 22 April 2021

Moonoomoo Turn-off

Friday 23 April 2021

Slogan Downs

Tuesday 27 April 2021

Nevena WF

Wednesday 28 April 2021

Rangeview Turn-off

Thursday 29 April 2021

Barrington

Tuesday 4 May 2021

Paynes Lagoon Airstrip

Wednesday 5 May 2021

Hidden Valley Dump

Thursday 6 May 2021

Nulla Nulla Molasses Facility

Friday 7 May 2021

Kangerong

Monday 10 May 2021

Ballabay WF

Tuesday 11 May 2021

Cardigan

Wednesday 12 May 2021

Myola

Thursday 13 May 2021

Silver Valley Turn-off

Monday 17 May 2021

Hillgrove

Tuesday 18 May 2021

Dosey Spring Airstrip

Wednesday 19 May 2021

Valley of Lagoons

Thursday 20 May 2021

Christmas Creek

Friday 21 May 2021

Camel Creek

If you wish to conduct a 1080 baiting campaign in your area, please contact Council.

1080 Doggone Biscuits

In addition to the 1080 Baiting Program, 1080 Doggone Biscuits are readily available for purchase by from local Schedule 7 retailers.

Pigs (Category 3, 4 & 6 Biosecurity Act 2014)

The feral pig is one of the most widespread and damaging pest animals in Queensland.  Feral pigs are found all over the Charters Towers Region with the greatest populations located in riparian areas. 

Aerial Shooting and the use of Pigout Baits are Council's preferred control methods. 

The purchase of Pigout Baits requires the completion and submission of the Application Form above and is granted on the same terms and conditions as the purchase of 1080 Doggone Biscuits.  Council's Fees and Charges outline the cost associated with the purchase of Pigout baits.